We are working together


A Memorandum Of Understanding (MOU) was executed on March, 28, 2011 between the administration of the City of Flint, the City of Flint Planning Commission, and the City council. These parties agreed to work together to develop a Master Plan.

Memorandum of Understanding

The Flint Planning Commission meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month beginning at 6:00 pm. Meetings are held in the Committee-of the-Whole room, 3rd floor of Flint City Council Chambers. Past meeting minutes and agendas can be found here

Upcoming meeting times and locations can be found here.

Planning Commission

Under state law PA 33, the Flint Planning Commission is charged with the creation of the Master Plan and recommendation of the plan for adoption by Flint City Council. The Planning Commission has encouraged the development of a Master Plan process that is founded on broad public participation and legitimately reflects the priorities of the community based on meaningful engagement. Heeding the need for a truly public process, the Plan Commission initiated the formation of the Master Plan Steering Committee, a 21-member group that includes two representatives from the Planning Commission as well as the City Council. By including official City representation on the Steering Committee, it is hoped that once drafted, the Master Plan will reflect the goals and aspirations of the larger Flint community as well as City officials, ensuring a smoothly transition through the public hearing and adoption process.

Membership Roster:

  • David Jackson, Sr. - Ward 1
  • Patrick Ryals - Ward 2
  • Leora Campbell - Ward 3
  • Carol-Anne Blower - Ward 4
  • Robert Wesley, Chairman - Ward 5
  • Robert Jewell - Ward 6
  • Denise Smith-Allen - Ward 7
  • Phyllis McCree - Ward 8
  • Elizabeth Jordan, Co-Chair - Ward 9